# UNIVERSITY OF NAIROBI

# **INTERNAL MEMO**

## FROM: ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

DATE: 11/2/2021

#### TO: STAFF AND STUDENTS

REF: EED/SOL/2/21

#### ELECTRONIC ELECTION OF DEAN – SCHOOL OF LAW

The Electronic Election of the Dean School of Law is set to be held on Tuesday 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2021. The following were nominated for the elections:

Prof. Winifred Kamau Prof Bernard Sihanya:

The Electoral Commission and ICT Team held a meeting today Thursday 11<sup>th</sup> February 2021 at 10.00 a.m to brief the Candidates and Agents on the electoral process. The meeting agreed on the following:

#### (i) <u>Verification of the Voters Register/Documents</u>

#### (a) Nomination Papers and any related information

Candidates shall have the opportunity to verify nomination papers and any related information on Friday 12<sup>th</sup> February 2021 between 10.00 a.m and 1.00 p.m. at the Academic Registrar's Office.

#### (b) Voters Register

Verification of the Voters Register would officially commence on Friday 12<sup>th</sup> February 2021 from 8.00 a.m and end on Wednesday 17<sup>th</sup> February 2021 4.00 p.m and submitted to the Academic Register. The final Voters Register will be circulated on 18<sup>th</sup> February 2021. The Dean and Chairmen of Departments are requested to facilitate the verification process as per Statute XIX. All the candidates will be required to submit written approvals for the verified Voters Register to be used for election purposes.

#### (ii) Mock Election

To be held on Friday 19<sup>th</sup> February 2021 between 8.00 to 4.00 p.m.

#### (iii) Voting on the Election Day

Voting will begin at 8.00 a.m to 4.00 p.m on Tuesday 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2021

#### (iv) Announcement of Results

The Dean shall convene a virtual School Board meeting at 4.30 p,m on Tuesday 23<sup>rd</sup> February 2021 for announcement of the results.

Please find Procedure for Virtual Election of Deans which was approved by the University Senate held on 22<sup>nd</sup> December 2020, information on persons qualified to vote and instructions on how to cast electronic vote for your ease of reference.



### WEBUYE,H.O.D ACADEMIC REGISTRAR

Сс

Vice Chancellor Deputy Vice-Chancellor(AA) Principals, CHSS Dean, School of Law Registrar, CHSS Admi. Asst. School of Law Director, ICT